Anatomy of a Painting: “Moon Wolf”

For those of you who follow my art and my blog know that I’m always looking for different materials to paint on and this piece is no exception. 

Whenever we do any de-cluttering of our space in the house, most items go to Value Village and other times, items find their way in my studio.

The following piece was a Spice cutting board with a curved blade and wooden handle. The board had a concave circle and what immediately came to mind was a moon! 

Since I had done five other works with moons that I called the “Blue Period” I thought this one would stand out from the rest. I knew my focal point would be the moon but what would be around that moon? Trees on either side was my first thought and then the wolf came to mind.

I prepared my board with gesso and then added wood plaster to create the hill the wolf would be on as well as some plaster for the branches that would overlap the moon.

I roughly shaped the mountain and branches and let it all dry overnight. The next day I lightly sanded some of the rougher edges and kept just enough to give it texture.

The moon was what I painted first and then added a combination of ultramarine blue and royal blue for the sides. The tree branches were a combination of black, forest green and grey.  The hill and rocks were grey and titanium white and cerulean blue.

The moon was retouched a little and once done, varnished in a high gloss so that the entire piece looked like actual stone.

Hope you enjoyed the process of this piece.

Stay creative.

Fabien

Leave a comment